
Midtown Honda
Toronto, ON
Filter Reviews by Keyword
By Type
106 Reviews of Midtown Honda
Shady practices We were pretty close to finalizing the deal when I mentioned that I had been to another dealership before. He asked if I had given my credit card at t We were pretty close to finalizing the deal when I mentioned that I had been to another dealership before. He asked if I had given my credit card at the other dealership. I said yes, but hadn't signed any papers and havent paid any deposit. The moment I said that, he was like 'we can't deal with you. if those guys have taken your credit card, then you have already bought a car from them'. Really??? And at the beginning of our discussion he wanted my credit card so that he can 'start the discussion with his manager'. Assured me that I wouldn't be charged and it's very safe. Kinda shady. Anyway, he went on arguing about how giving the credit card is committing to the purchase, irrespective of whether you sign or not. If you are shopping around, DO NOT give your credit card, till you see a printed bill of sale with the price you agree to. They WILL run the deposit without your permission and you will waste time recovering the charge. ######################################## Response to Dealer: Thanks for your response. You misunderstood what I said. Maybe I wasn't clear enough in my review. 1. Bill of Sale - NOTHING was signed. no bill of sale, no paid deposit, not even a random piece of paper. During our first discussion, the dealer asked for the credit card and it was in his possession for about 20 minutes. That's it. If you are telling me, handing over my credit card to a dealer means 'consent' to pay, I don't know what to say to that. 2. My complain (and hence a poor review) is the comment from your salesperson that 'If a customer hands over his credit card, he is committing to a purchase. Doesn't matter if he signs a bill of sale or not". And he himself at the beginning of our discussion asked for my credit card. When I asked why, he said it's just a formality and his manager wouldn't even talk about prices till he sees a credit card. And later on, he himself says that giving a credit card = committing to the deposit. Hope that clarifies what I am trying to warn other buyers about. for your information, I was going to sign the deal that day if not for this incident. More
Warning!!!! Fraudulent Sales, Check your bill of sale * Fraudulent sales by financial manager * Complete lack of legal mind and business ethics by general manager Below story sounds like businesses h * Fraudulent sales by financial manager * Complete lack of legal mind and business ethics by general manager Below story sounds like businesses happening in 3rd world in 1960's, but this is what I have gone through for the last several weeks and still not fully resolved. Very hard to believe and deal with, but I am sharing this story with a hope that there are no more victims like me. If you already purchased car here and never reviewed your bill of sale, you better DO IT NOW!!! - My (father's) car was recently stolen 3 weeks after the purchase (this was my 2nd purchase at this location) - For the insurance claim, I reviewed the bill of sale before sending it to insurance company and realized that I got charged for a protection plan ($1,450.00) which I clearly declined at the paperwork stage. - During the paperwork session, the financial manager (Maria) tried to sell a protection plan (called Titan Coverage) and my father and I declined it. But then, she clearly said she will be giving the protection plan for free since I am repeat customer. Subsequently, she threw a very friendly (later turned out to be hypocritic) sales pitch, saying that "You should come back to us again in the future in return of my favour". - To get the 'stolen' money back, I went to the dealership and asked her about the charge. In summary, her response was "There might be a miscommunication, There is nothing free, If you want I can refund you the money". no apologies. - I brought it to the general manager (Brad) and did so for 2 reasons: 1.awareness & 2.chance for him to redeem her wrongdoing as her boss. However, it was very disturbing that his first question was whether or not I will be replacing (re-purchasing) the stolen car at his dealership, but he was co-operative enough to listen to me at the moment while being very neutral. It was about 2pm in the afternoon and he promised to provide more concrete answer regarding the refund around 8pm that night after further investigation on his end. He did NOT call at 8pm that night. - He did not call the next day either. - He called 2 days after and told me that he found 2 documents that my father signed. My father might have signed the paper (expecting it would be free as what she said), but never agreed to have the protection plan added at additional costs. His point was 'You guys signed the paper, legally she/we didn't do anything wrong'. Then he asked again whether or not I would be replacing the stolen car at his dealership. [Conclusion: Financial manager entices clients to give protection/warranty for free, but in fact add it on the bill and make him/her sign the multiple-page documents.] - As my answer was 'No, I am not repeating purchase from Midtown Honda', the general manager said he has to go back to third party to request the refund since Midtown Honda does not keep the money. It was Saturday afternoon, and he said he will get back to me with an answer by coming Tuesday. - No response on Tuesday. - On Wednesday, I got e-mail from the financial manager (who did the fraudulent sales), not by the general manager, telling me that the protection plan got cancelled. Then she asked when I can come by to pick up the cheque. I find this extremely rude as it sounds to me "Here is the money that I took from you without your agreement, anyways come and get it". - My response was "I don't want to go back to where I became victim of fraudulent sales. Mail the cheque". - The general manager replied shortly after, "You were not a victim of fraudulent sales with 2 different contracts signed by your father. Maria will mail your cheque." - No apologies or whatsoever...I find the general manager's such irresponsible response and his overall attitude/approach on this entire damage control process were even more disgusting and provocative than her fraudulent sales. - Today, 8 days after the conversation above, I still have not received the cheque yet. It should take only 2 business days as they are located only 9kms away from me. I regret I did not voice-record our conversation during the paperwork. I hate myself for giving them 100% of trust with no doubt. I wonder if I am the only target they use such sales tactics toward. Now I even feel thankful to the car thief who helped me see Midtown Honda's real face. Otherwise I would be paying the $1,450.00+tax throughout the next 72 months without even recognizing. It was the worst buying experience of any kind by far in my entire life. Lack of business morale and common sense from top to bottom. See you never. More
CR-V shopping worst experience We found a CR-V on Autotrader that was listed under Midtown Honda. We came to see the car, the salesperson was very slow to respond to our queries. He We found a CR-V on Autotrader that was listed under Midtown Honda. We came to see the car, the salesperson was very slow to respond to our queries. He could hardly type, had no idea what the financing rates were and kept going "somewhere" to get info so we finally asked him to bring the resource person (sales Manager). Boy-o-boy, he was even worse, he was in no mood to negotiate and was in some sort of hurry to leave for home. very rude and unprofessional Although he boast of selling cars for 30 years. I wonder how did blue become a sales manger. Dont waste your time there. More
Arrogant unprofessional salesman I met the most arrogant unprofessional car salesman ever. He got very upset when I said I would continue looking because the price he gave me wasn't w I met the most arrogant unprofessional car salesman ever. He got very upset when I said I would continue looking because the price he gave me wasn't what I expected because it wasn't a competitive price or a bargain that I couldn't resist In fact, he took personally a comment I made about the car millage like if I was saying something about him instead on focusing on the car. This guy should be train in customer service of frankly change profession.what a petty someone with this low skills represents a brand like Honda More
Unpleasant experience. Beware of signing form for test drive We came into the dealership wanting to test drive a particular Civic model we were interested in. The sales associate asked us to step into his office We came into the dealership wanting to test drive a particular Civic model we were interested in. The sales associate asked us to step into his office first before the test drive, but we indicated that we wanted to do the test drive first. He took our licence info and came back with the news that they did not have the model for the test drive we asked for, but the lower version was available. Fine. Then he produced a form he said the dealership required us to sign before doing the test drive, which, if signed would make us liable if anything happened to the test drive car up to a maximum of $7000. When we balked at signing such a document (NO OTHER DEALER, HONDA or OTHERWISE has ever required this in our experience), we were basically given the cold shoulder treatment, even though our previous car was bought at this dealership. Just as well we felt not listened to, because it made us go to another Honda dealer, where they actually had the demo model which we test drove, and ended up buying with a vastly more pleasant sales experience. More
Great new car buying experience Best Honda Dealership hands down! I work in the industry and I am very familiar with the car buying process. But when I came to see Eli at Midtown I Best Honda Dealership hands down! I work in the industry and I am very familiar with the car buying process. But when I came to see Eli at Midtown I got something I never expected: a warm real conversation about my needs. It didn't feel like I was buying car in the normal sense. It felt like I was having a conversation with someone who genuinely cared. More
Horrible experience. Went to buy a car. I asked the sales associate for a coupe in a certain price range, he told me to go outside and look for it. He didn't bother to sho Went to buy a car. I asked the sales associate for a coupe in a certain price range, he told me to go outside and look for it. He didn't bother to show me. I'm a 21 year old female which is why he probably didn't take me seriously (although I probably make more money than he does). I went to Maple Honda and bought a car that same day. His loss. Service - I went a month later to get my tires changed. They were nice in the service department, but I waited about 6 hours even with an appointment. Turns out, the rims weren't fitting. They gave me a rental car, and they gave me a Civic. Mind you, my car is a fully loaded Accord with sunroof and leather seats. They should've matched up and given me something similar. The guy (enterprise) forgot to give me back my cards, so I had to drive back to get them. Everything all around wasn't a pleasant experience. Shawn was nice enough, but the service itself? Horrible. As a full time university student who works night shifts, I am busy as xxxx and my whole day was spent waiting for my car! Long story short, it's taking them over 6 hours to change my tires. And I have to wait until tomorrow to pick it up. And they don't take young people seriously in the sales department, which is fine if they want to lose business. It was my first car, and they lost a customer for life (obviously I will be changing this car in a few years...never gonna come to Midtown Honda for that!) Never coming back again. More
Very Happy I was very happy with the service with my Honda CRV. The staff was helpful and understanding to my needs with my car. Will come back again for service I was very happy with the service with my Honda CRV. The staff was helpful and understanding to my needs with my car. Will come back again for service on my car. Thanks again Anthony for your help. More
"WARNING!! DO NOT BUY Certified Used Car FROM THIS DEALER. DISAPPOINTING Experience I bought a Certified Pre-owned Car- 2008 Camry from that dealership Problem: 1-Problem with the steering wheel tha DISAPPOINTING Experience I bought a Certified Pre-owned Car- 2008 Camry from that dealership Problem: 1-Problem with the steering wheel that they dismissed as not a safety issue!!!. 2-They promised(before I pay for the cara) to fix a broken latch inside the car and again they did not. I followed up with them several time by email and phone and got nothing. I even took the car back after one week and the service rep was very irritated and his verdict at the end it is an old car what do you expect?. "It is not a safety issue!" I know that a broken latch is not a safety issue but it shows the level of customer service that this dealership offers. Do They really understand what is a Certified Pre-Owned Car? This is what they have on their website as definition for a CPC::Must pass "mandated inspection and reconditioning process by factory trained technicians. " I don't read the word safety I read reconditioning which I did not get.. The car was not even cleaned properly. And yes, steering could be a safety issue. WHY PROMISE WHEN YOU DON'T INTEND TO DELIVER? I wish I read the reviews before buying the car from that dealership. Response to Dealer response! I was NEVER asked to pay $300 to fix the latch. You are either confusing me with someone else or plainly making this up. If I were asked to pay $300 to fix the latch, I would have simply walked away. I paid the market price for the car and it was not exactly a bargain. I was told by Hakeem before and after signing the contract. (sales person) that Vince (service manager), will get the part for me and fix the latch for free. This promise continued for weeks but your dealership did not keep the promise. I brought the car in for service after 2 weeks but the steering was never checked. Your service person told me that it is because of the front wheel struts. Hakeem told me that it was a brand new part. I don't know who to believe, It is obvious though that your dealership doesn't care about its reputation and when you get stuck you lie. Another reason for buyers to stay away. More
Service on "Fit" Excellent service. We service our car ("fit") at Midtown Honda for several years. They giving immediate attention and recommendation for repairs whic Excellent service. We service our car ("fit") at Midtown Honda for several years. They giving immediate attention and recommendation for repairs which make sense. Also, they accommodate time according to our needs. More